Paul Pepper wins at Daytona


The Premier Racing League’s first race of a double header at Daytona started with some pushing and shoving, and some wrecked race cars, but after 50 laps, #7 Paul Pepper took the win in the Firecracker 125 seen here at GSRC.

Brian Yaczik hot off his win last week at Gateway, took the pole and lead the most laps but was caught up in the “big one” on lap 21, along with most of field.

Leading the pack back to the green with 25 laps to go were drivers Ricky Hardin and  Brian Mellendorf.

With only 10 laps to go, the second big wreck collected 7 cars, and set up a 5 lap dash to the finish.

On the last lap Paul Pepper cruised to the win after 3 wide racing going into turn 3 caused Hardin, James Krahula, and Karson Aube to wreck.

“Big” Joe Hassert finished 2nd followed by Brian Mellendorf, Ricky Hardin, and Johnathon Caddell 5th.

Race Results