Winter Cup Will Set The 2017 Cup Roster

DALLAS – Before the Premier Racing League throws the green flag for the 2017 Season in Daytona on February 23rd, the Cup Series will host another Winter Exhibition Series to help set the roster for its top division and work on 2017 rules. The Winter Exhibition Series will kick off at the high banks at Daytona on October 27th and will again be free to everyone.

The Winter Series will use the new Thursday night date and time schedule that the Cup Series will use in 2017. Events will open for practice at 7:40pm ET with the green flag waving at 9:15pm ET. Wednesday nights will also see the addition of a practice race using the same time schedule as Thursday’s. Practice events will be 50% of the scheduled Thursday distance and will also include one Fast Repair to drivers.  The switch to using 100% fuel will also be made for the Winter Series.

The schedule features highlights from the 2017 Cup Series including many new tracks to help prepare drivers for the upcoming season. Monza will use the Grand Prix layout excluding the first chicane and will see the Gen 6 Cup Cars heading into the first turn at over 200 MPH. The Suzuka race will use the east layout used by NASCAR in the 90’s.

The winner of the 12 race Winter Series will be given free entry to the 2017 Cup Series. Adam Blattel and Amsoil have also stepped forward and will be sponsoring the highest-finishing driver who has not won a Premier Racing League Championship for the 2017 campaign.

“We want to make sure that we are inviting clean and respectful drivers to our 2017 Cup roster,” said Premier Racing League organizer James Krahula on Saturday. “So even though we have two fully paid spots for drivers to race for on Thursdays, we will also be looking hard into how drivers race on Wednesdays as well. We will only have 43 spots for drivers per segment in 2017, and we will only be inviting those that demonstrate good race craft and respect, it won’t only be about speed.”

The Premier Racing League will also host Super Late Models on Sundays and Tour Modifieds on Tuesdays this Winter, and sign ups for all three series are now open here. Sign ups for the 2017 Season are also open and can be accessed here.

10/27 – Daytona International Speedway
11/3 – Auto Club Speedway
11/10 – Gateway Motorsports Park
11/17 – Autodromo Nazionale Monza
12/1 – Twin Ring Motegi
12/8 – Suzuka International Racing Course
12/15 – The Milwaukee Mile
1/5 – Pocono Raceway
1/12 – Dover International Raceway
1/19 – Iowa Speedway
1/26 – Rockingham Speedway
2/2 – Atlanta Motor Speedway